Homemade Umeshu with Don Papa Rum

DSC03814

Last weekend, a client told me about how she recently made her own umeshu (plum wine). It seemed pretty easy make, and it’s now the season for ume (plums), so I figured I should give it a go.

Around this time of the year, most supermarkets have a section with all the materials and ingredients needed to make umeshu. The stuff you see above (minus the rum), were actually all on the same aisle. Very convenient.

The only thing I didn’t get from the supermarket was the alcohol that people usually use for plum wine, which is this:

fruitalcohol

Why not? Well, because I had a better idea. I was going to make it with rum! And not just any rum, but Don Papa Rum. Check out the reviews.

Now before actually buying the ingredients, I wanted to be absolutely sure that it was fine to use rum to make umeshu.

Googled it. Read it was okay. Great! Went to the grocery and bought all the stuff you see on the photo at the top of the post.

Okay, I’ll post the picture again here…

DSC03814

That’s a 5 liter jar, a 1 liter bag of ume, a bottle of Don Papa Rum, and rock sugar. The ume, as you can see, aren’t all exactly green anymore. But that’s alright. I read that it was all good.

Making it is fairly simple. You put in a layer of ume, then a layer of sugar, then repeat till you run out of plums. After that you pour in the alcohol.

I ran into a bit of a problem though. The rum wasn’t enough. I needed the rum to cover the topmost layer of plums. And so it was with a heavy heart that I had to sacrifice my other bottle of rum, which was actually a more expensive one. It was a bottle of Don Papa Rum 10 years.

Don_Papa_Small_Batch_Rum_10_Year_Philippines.jpg

A sad day indeed. Just look at how awesome that bottle looks!

So, I poured the rum into the jar. Luckily, it was exactly the amount I needed.

DSC03815

And now all I have to do is wait! You need to let it sit for at least 3 months before you can drink it. The best time to drink it is after 2 years, but who the hell can wait that long, right? I’m going to bust this open after 3 months and just have a shot of it now and then.

In the meantime, it’ll be sitting under the kitchen sink…

DSC03818

Leave a Reply

